Skip to content
Covid-19 Update: Please allow extra time for shipping.
Covid-19 Update: Please allow extra time for shipping.

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The root chakra, muladhara chakra, is associated with the element of earth. The earth element represents the body, the physical form.

Key Words: Foundation, Safety, Security, Stability, Survival, Grounded, Balance

Location: Base of Spine/Pelvic Floor

Element: Earth

Color: Red

Symbol: 4 Petalled Lotus

Healing Gemstones: Smoky Quartz, Ruby, Obsidian, Jasper, Bloodstone

The phrase muladhara translates to mula – roo; and adhara – base or foundation.

Four-Petalled Lotus: The root chakra signifies the birth of human consciousness, the four petals of the root chakra lotus symbolize four aspects of consciousness. Manas – mind, Buddhi – intellect, Chitta – consciousness and Ahamkara – ego.

The Square: The number four appears again as the square, representing foundational life energy, stability and rigidity. A stable structure for the adjoining chakras to rest upon.

The Inverted Triangle: The inverted triangle represents the elemental symbol for earth, it is a reminder of the grounding energy associated with muladhara, chakra root.

Free Shipping

To Most Countries


Store Hours


9am-5pm MT

Secure SSL

Worry & Stress-Free

Shopping Experience

Made with

Heart & High